Jan 10 – Tithing

Then Jacob made a vow, saying,
“If God will be with me and will watch over me on this journey
I am taking and will give me food to eat and clothes to wear
so that I return safely to my father’s household,
then the LORD will be my God and this stone
that I have set up as a pillar will be God’s house,
and of all that you give me I will give you a tenth.”   
–Genesis 28:20-22 (ESV)

The giving of 1/10th of what we’ve been given, a tithe.  Jacob chooses to offer this gift; he’s not told (commanded) to do this.

In the Old Testament the giving of 1/10th is considered a law to be practiced religiously.  But what about the New Testament?  Here we are given the guidance we are to live under as believers in Christ.  [Here is also where some of my brethren may not agree with me].

Every man according as he purposeth in his heart, so let him give;
not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a cheerful giver.      
–2 Corinthians 9:7 (NIV)

Just as God wants us to choose to love and follow him, he wants us to choose to give back to the one that gives us all things.  This passage does not define what the gift is to be, or even, where to give it to. It tells us that according to our heart and to be a cheerful giver.

So, how much are you to give, to tithe? You give what your heart cheerfully gives.  God would rather have a penny given in the right spirit (attitude) than a million dollars in the wrong.

Your tithe is a gift from you back to the one who gives all things as a thank you; a recognition of where what you have came from. How much is it?  Whatever your heart tells you.  Pray about it.  Study on it.  Discuss it.  Perhaps you have time but no money; then give time.  Perhaps you have money but (you think) no time, then pray about where to give it.

Father, Let me return cheerfully and fully back to You who gave me all things.

Published by: Seekers of Christ, Let's Pray

Let me tell you who I'm not. I'm not a Pastor or trained religious scholar. I have no degrees that declare me qualified; I have a God who makes it so. So, how can I write about Christ? How can I teach, preach, evangelize, share or testify? I am doing nothing more than answering a call from God. I am a woman of faith, a nobody, as a current song espouses, who wants to tell everybody about somebody. I want to share my personal insights into God and the Gospel, the Good New. I want to share the hope that is given to us and share the unbelievable gifts of grace, mercy and forgiveness that is given so freely with the birth, death, resurrection and acceptance of God's son, Jesus Christ.

Categories ChristLeave a comment

Leave a comment